In Our Mad and Furious City

by Guy Gunaratne
105.00 NIS
Guy Gunaratne's blistering debut, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY, is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of NW, THE BRICKS THAT MADE THE HOUSES or fans of THIS IS ENGLAND or LA HAINE.IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY centres around three friends for whom suddenly everything is at stake. Selvon, the athlete, driven by the need to win, counts the days until he can start over at Brunel. Music-obsessed Ardan, whose wickedly sharp rhymes are his only form of self-defence, is unexpectedly offered a glimpse of a future he has hardly dared dream of. Yusuf slips away from home for an afternoon of football, far from the fallout of his father's death. Whether he can escape the ugly radicalism gaining the upper hand at his mosque is another matter.When the mood turns dangerous on the Stones Estate, there can be no certainties for any of them. Written in a voice as starkly beautiful as it is authentically urban, and looking back to earlier chapters in this island's troubled history, Guy Gunaratne's impassioned first novel dares to ask some urgent questions of our divided society.

Publisher: Wiz Kids

SKU: 9781472250209